Got Beat?

“Lean On Me” Song Review — Dom Bozhor

“Lean On Me” by Bill Withers is a blues song that came out in 1972. It is a thoughtful and supportive song that makes me feel comforted. It makes me think about my mom. Ms. Terri.  She felt strong about helping kids. She was scared and doubtful about starting Momentum, but her fears were conquered by her positive thoughts. I wouldn’t be able to do what she does because I am not as patient as her. I like helping people, but sometimes I don’t. I give “Lean On Me” four stars because it’s a good song, but there are some parts I don’t like.

IMG_2582

Lean On Me” Song Review — Dylan Ball

“Lean On Me” by Bill Withers is a blues song that came out in 1972. It is a thoughtful and supportive song that comforts me. It reminds me of the one time I was doing a wheelie on my bike and I fell back.  I hit my head on a rock.  There was a lot of blood and I was hurt and scared.  My mom took me inside and then my dad calmed me down and comforted me. Then my parents took me to the emergency room and I got staples in my head.  Looking back, I am grateful that I didn’t get brain damage and that I have my parents to lean on. I give “Lean On Me” four stars because it is a nice song, I like it.

IMG_2593

Emily’s Song Review “Shake it Off”

“Shake It Off” by Taylor Swift is a pop song that came out in 2014. It is a great song that makes me want to dance and shake my body. I believe Taylor Swift is telling people not to listen to what other people say and to be yourself. This song reminds me of when my tutor, Breezy, told me to be kind to other people and respect their different personalities that make them who they are. I give “Shake It Off” four stars because it is repetitive and it gets stuck in my head every time I listen to it.

IMG_3641

Song Review of “The Greatest” by Nathan Hikes

“The Greatest” by Kenny Rodgers isa country song that came out in 1999.  It is a slow song that makes me think about baseball.  This song makes me think of how I have a weakness sliding into the bases.  It makes me feel happy because I like baseball.  The give “the Greatest” three stars because I prefer newer and faster paced songs.IMG_3005

“The Greatest” Song review by Conner

“The Greatest” by Kenny Rodgers is a country song that came out in 1999. It is a fantastic song that makes me want to watch and play baseball.. I reminds me of the time when I struck out, but my team still cheered me on.  I won the Sportsmanship Award.  Even though I struck out, I still love baseball. The give “the Greatest” three stars because the song makes me excited about baseball, but it is an old song.

IMG_3165

Brooklyn’s Song Review of “My Favorite Things”

“My Favorite Things” by Julie Andrews is a musical song from the movie, “The Sound of Music” that came out in 1959. It is a catchy song that makes me dance and sing with my friends. Just like in the song, some of my favorite things are kittens, mittens, raindrops, and ponies. This song reminds me to think of my favorite things when I’m in a bad mood in order to feel better. I give “My Favorite Things” three stars because Julie Andrews talks about things I like, but I enjoy newer music much more.

IMG_3110

Music Review of “Party in the USA”
by: Cindy D.
“Party in the U.S.A.” is by Miley Cyrus. The genre is pop. It came out on July 30, 2009. It is a happy and fun song. It makes me want to have a party because this is a party song. I give this song 3 ½ stars because it is in the middle of a good song and a bad song. In this song, Cyrus is singing as an American woman to the American population about how to find out who you are, and about fitting into a new and scary place. The message Miley is sending you is you can fit in if you be strong, and know who you are. I recommend this song to American people who like pop when they need a reminder of who they are.

DSC04453

Music Review “Party in the USA”
By: Layla S.
“Party in the U.S.A.” by Miley Cyrus is a pop song that came out on July 31, 2009. It is a happy song that makes me feel like I can do everything. In this song, Cyrus is singing as an American girl to the world about fitting in everywhere. I recommend this song to everyone when they are feeling sad.
Music Review of “Party in the USA”
by: Kylie K.
“Party in the U.S.A.” is a pop song that makes me love the Fourth of July more than I did before. It came out on July 31, 2009. I give it a four star rating because personally it is not my favorite song, but I still liked it. In this song, Cyrus is singing as a teenager to everyone in the U.S.A. about how to find yourself, and know who you are. The message the artist is sending you is that you always belong somewhere because this is your country, your home. I recommend this song to Americans when they are feeling down, and need a pick me up.

IMG_3590

Music Review of “True Colors”
By: Shayna Thomas
“True Colors” by Cyndi Lauper is a pop song that came out in 1986. It is an inspiring song that makes me want to sing about who I am. In this song, Lauper is singing as a girl who was bullied to other people who have been bullied about being themselves. The message the artist is sending is to show your true self no matter what. I recommend this song to everyone when they are feeling down. I give “True Colors” five stars because it is fun.

IMG_3466

Music Review of  “Happy”                                                                                                                             by Christopher Butz

“Happy,” by Pharrell Williams, is a pop song that came out in 2013. It is a joyful and interesting song that makes me want to get up and move, think about happy people at Momentum, and feel happy and excited. I give “Happy” 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 because it has a good beat. In this song, Pharrell Williams is singing as a joyful person to the world about the importance of being happy. The message the artist is sending is people need to stay happy. I recommend this song to everybody, if they are having a bad day.

IMG_3446

Saylor’s “Lean On Me” Review

“Lean On Me” by Bill Withers is a rhythm and blues song that came out in 1972. It is a relaxing song that makes me want to sleep. It makes me feel bored because it has a mellow tune. I give “Lean On Me” two stars because there is too many “Call me” at the end. I don’t enjoy this song or Rhythm and Blues at all.

IMG_3169

“Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”                                                                                                                                By: Bailey Shandley

“Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” by Mary Poppins is a children’s song that came out in 1964. It is a fast song that makes me want to dance and sing along. I give “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” five stars. In this song, Poppins is singing as a nanny to two children about a kid who is afraid to speak in front of people. Then he learns a word that made him brave and smart. The message that the artist is sending to the listener is to be brave when speaking in front of people. I recommend my sister Saylor listens to the song when we are watching Mary Poppins.

IMG_3152

“Star Spangled Banner”                                                                                                                                    by Bruce Newland

“Star Spangled Banner” by Francis Scott Key is a song that came out in 1814. It is a loud song that makes me want to sing. I give “Star Spangled Banner” five stars because I like the sound of the voices and it reminds me of watching football games.

IMG_1587

“Royals”
By: Lorde
Song Review by: Kazzy Latven

“Royals” by Lorde is a pop song that came out in 2013. It is a fast beat song. I like fast beat songs, although I think this song is an average song. If I were rating this song I would give it a three.

IMG_3578

“The Star Spangled Banner”
By: Francis Scott Keys
Song Review by: Josiah Steinmtez

“The Star Spangled Banner,” by Francis Scott Keys is a holiday song that came out in 1814. It is an inspirational song that makes me joyful. I give “The Star Spangled Banner,” five stars.

IMG_3702
Take Me Out to the Ballgame
By: Bob McGrath
Song Review by: Evan McBride

“Take Me Out to the Ballgame” by Bob McGrath, is a children song that came out in 1908. It is a funny song that makes me happy because it makes me feel like I am at a ballgame. I give “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” two stars, because “Man in the Mirror” by Micheal Jackson is my favorite.

IMG_3357
“The Greatest”
By: Kenny Rogers
Song Review by: Trent Fitzgerald

“The Greatest,” by Kenny Rogers, is a country song that came out in 1999. It is an encouraging song that makes me want to try my best. In this song, Rodgers is singing from a spectators perspective. He is talking to himself, about one kid who is trying his best to play baseball and he gets strike three…. The message the artist is sending is to always try your best even when you are not good. I recommend this song to my dad because he loves baseball. My dad should listen to this song because the message is to try your best.

IMG_2327

This entry was posted in Summer Programs and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment